Meet our staff: Employer Liaison Assistant


Meet Shabana Hussein, our Employer Liaison Assistant. She is a recent University of Leeds graduate and here she gives us an insight into her role at the Careers Centre.

Blog Picture 1

What is your job at the Careers Centre and what does it involve?

I graduated from Leeds University in 2011 with a BSc Joint Honours in Geography and Management, and I’m now fortunate enough to be back as an employee. Leeds University is a wonderful organisation giving staff the opportunity to develop and excel within their roles.

I work in the Careers Centre, being part of the Employer Team, a group of eight proactive individuals.

My job involves liaising with employers, creating vacancies and advertising them to the students. I am the Excel champion, which means I get to put my IT skills to the test, analysing data and producing the team statistics, and downloads. I am also involved in organising employer presentations, workshops, and I contribute to organising Careers Centre events and fairs.

What’s the best thing about your job?

The best about my job is being able to constantly develop myself. The University, and especially my Manager, has enabled me to get involved with a variety of Careers Centre activities to challenge myself.

There are so many great things about working for the Careers Centre and the University: the friendly atmosphere, the high tech gym given at staff discount, the LOGIK Staff Centre where I’ve learnt how to play the guitar, learnt Spanish, take an Indian Head Massage course and most importantly working in such a pleasant and enjoyable team environment.

What skills are important for your job?

The most important skills for my job are definitely communication, having the ability to analyse, manage my time, multitask and team working.

I speak to numerous employers on a daily basis so professionalism is a priority as I’m directly representing Leeds University. It’s very important to communicate effectively and deliver information, as I have the ability to attract and create future business for events and presentations.  I’m involved in a variety of activities, so it’s vital that I organise my time efficiently and communicate with my team mates so we’re able to meet our targets.

What training or previous experience do you have that has helped you in your current role?

In my previous role I produced monthly reports and monitored projects using a variety of MS Office applications. I found that this previous experience proved vital as I was able to build on my knowledge in my current role. When I saw that the University offers internal training I jumped at the opportunity, encouraged from my manager to enrol on multiple courses, which have truly helped my personal development. I love to work with Excel, as I am constantly learning how to analyse and manipulate data.

What top tips would you have for students and graduates?

My top tip for students and graduates: be open to new experiences and learning new skills. Two years ago I would never have thought that I would enjoy working with data, but taking on additional work has shown me the satisfaction I get out of it. Sometimes it’s hard to know exactly what you want do, so get stuck in and offer to be involved in everything. Be confident in putting ideas forward, this way you can work with people and network. You never know what opportunity is around the corner.

You need to appreciate how every opportunity is a stepping stone. I have used and built on so many skills from previous roles, I am now knowledgeable and able to do so much more. I know that everything I am doing now will help me in my next role and I am really enjoying being here and learning.

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet our staff

Leave a Reply

