Meet our staff: Social Media Development Intern


Meet our Social Media Development Intern, Chloe McDonald. Look out for further posts explaining her role and what it’s like to be the Careers Centre Intern over the course of the year!

IMG_1076

What is your job at the Careers Centre and what does it involve? 

I am currently on a work placement year, but once I am back at university I will return to my final year studying a BA in Communications. My degree is left relatively open, with few compulsory modules so you can really make the degree in to what you want it to be! As to where it can lead, there are many jobs that can come about following a degree in Communications, including academia, PR, journalism, marketing and social media.

My job at the Careers Centre is Social Media Development Intern and it varies greatly on a day-to-day basis. Mainly I am involved in trying to make our social media outlets, such as Twitter and Facebook, appeal to a wider range of students and work more effectively. But I have only just started and I’m still trying to find my feet so we will see where it leads!

What’s the best thing about your job?

I work with some brilliant people and there is such a great work atmosphere in the Careers Centre. Working for the University of Leeds in general really is a pleasure as they value their staff so much and right from the start I felt accepted. Aside from this I am a social media lover, so what could be a better job than poring over social media related things all day. And finally, at the moment my job doesn’t really feel like work, it’s not a chore, which can only be a good thing!

What skills are important for your job?

I think that having a really good knowledge of lots of different social media networks is key, as well as being able to work successfully in a team and on your own. Aside from this it is important to enjoy what you do, especially to really have a passion for social media and understand the profound effect that it can have on the marketing strategies that companies use today.

What training or previous experience do you have that has helped you in your current role?

My degree course has offered me a lot of academic training, but I wanted to complete an internship so that I could gain the practical skills that would be needed in a graduate workplace. I also gained a lot of my video and photo editing skills from my time at college which has really benefited my role. Aside from this I picked up various teamwork and initiative skills from my previous work experience which involved customer facing roles in both shops and bars.

What top tips would you have for students and graduates?

Think about what you would like to do! Make sure it’s early enough to get short work experience placements or longer internships. They really are vital to your success in the job market after you graduate, and even if you do a placement and realise that isn’t the job that you want to do, at least you have ruled something out. Better to do a four week placement and dislike it than enter on to a graduate scheme with no idea whether you are going in to a job that you will enjoy.

If you really have no idea, come to the Careers Centre! You can drop in Monday-Friday 9am-4pm for a quick 15 minute appointment. Remember, you can use our services even if you have already graduated!

Leave a comment

Filed under Meet our staff

Leave a Reply

